Tags

, , , , ,

http://www.myfoxphoenix.com/story/23596179/2013/10/02/officer-dropping-off-daughter-at-school-asked

Now this just burns my biscuits.

I could rant and rave. I want to. Unfortunately that will only get me so far. Let me see if cooler heads will prevail by the end of this.

First and foremost: a police officer is a symbol of a good guy, an average day hero. How many of us grew up in a day and age where our heroes weren’t’ the people being paid millions of dollars for a sport but the people saving lives, such as: police officers, firefighters and doctors? I know I did. I was told if anything should ever happen to find a policeman. Yet there are apparently some parents who threaten their children into behaving by saying things like “if you’re not good, I’m going to call the police and let them take you away”. Are you kidding me? You’re going to sit there and teach your child to fear the police instead of setting rules and boundaries of your own?

But who is the first person we call when we need help? The police. When a gunman’s rampage was wreaked havoc inside a school, who was called to save them? The police. When the children were scared about going back to school, who stood outside their buildings to let them know they were safe? The police.

Now you’re going to tell a father of a child, that he can’t wear his work clothes/equipment when dropping his daughter off?

Most officers work crazy hours averaging around 50-60 hours a week and that is before they have to go to court, write reports, and a million other things they do. The time that they get to spend with their family is precious. Not knowing Officer Urkov, I can only assume that this is his time with his daughter; their routine as father and daughter, for him to take her to school every day.

To the principal who asked the officer not to wear his uniform and gun to school anymore. Shame on you! Not only do you not have any right to declare what a parent can and cannot wear in the few minutes they are there to drop off their children. But the moment you found out he was a police office. A man who risks his life every day to protect your community; you should have said to him “I wanted to make you aware that some parent were concerned about you being armed and I wanted to make you aware of that. I did inform them that you are a police officer and a parent. Other than that, I just want to thank you for the service you do.”

And the school official who said: “We apologize that he took the discussion the wrong way perhaps, that was not the intent of the principal to offend him.” You need a refresher course on proper etiquette and discrimination. It’s like asking an ER doctor to not answer his phone while on call. Or a business man not to carry a briefcase because you don’t know what’s inside.

This father is an officer of the law; he has been trained and has taken a vow to protect the community. This “request” is an insult to all law enforcement families.

Something that no one has really thought of either is this: the issue was him openly carrying a weapon as police officer (and others) are allowed to do. There are plenty of other people, who are licensed, to carry weapons for personal protection. What about those people? Is this school now going to search everyone to see if they’re carrying? And who will they call about this- the same police they won’t let be there in uniform? Good luck with that!

Maybe this hits a little too close to home for me; after all I come from a military family. It also happens that the love of my life is one of those courageous people who believe in a greater good and put their life on the line every day. I spend most nights alone so that others may be safe. I kiss him as he leaves the door for work and I can never guarantee he will back in that door. But I am proud of that man, and blessed to be with someone who lives this crazy, hectic thing called life, serving others. It is because of this I know many officers and I’ve never been out and about with any officer (even in civilian clothes) where they did not still have their weapon on them. They are the watch dogs protecting the flock from wolves; they are not sheep.

This is obviously a hot button for me so I will leave you all with this:

“Blessed are the peacemakers, for they will be called children of God.” Matthew 5:9

